My Mom’s Stuffed Italian Frying Peppers with a little Twist

  • I remember my mother making stuffed frying peppers all so well.  It’s seems like yesterday that she  would whip them up  so easly for us in our family  italian kitchen.   This dish was a very reasonable priced vegetable to make,  but it tasted like a  delicacy.     Ingredients:

This receipe I made was for only Four (4)  Italian Frying Peppers.  Make adjustments if making more peppers.

  1. 4 Italian Frying Peppers
  2. 1  Green Onion Chopped or  1/4 of medium  onion chopped 
  3. 3  Garlic cloves Chopped 
  4. 4 slices of crusty bread chopped 
  5. 4 tabelspoons of extra virgin olive oil 
  6. 4 tablespoons of butter
  7. 1  handful of fresh chopped Italian parsley
  8. 1 egg beaten 
  9. 1 can  8 oz of Tomato sauce plus 1 can of water  * from your 8 oz can  (Mom’s Recipe)
  10. 1 12 oz Mason Jar of Homemade Roma Tomatoes (My Recipe)  “How to Can Roma Tomatoes  Recipe coming soon  !  My twist on this Recipe is useing my own canned Tomatoes 
  11. 4 tablespoons of Grated pecorino cheese
  12. Salt and pepper to taste  

Sauté onion and garlic in olive oil and in butter, till slightly golden.    Add your bread crumbs and push down your bread crumbs with the end of your fork, while sauteing .  Mix  well untill well blended while sauteing .  Remove from heat , and add your chopped parsley, salt and pepper.  Salt and peppper is always a required ingredient  when cooking.  In  most of all my  recipes I don’t like to  tell people  exactly how much  salt and pepper for you to use.  I always say ( to  put to taste ) , because  some people like more then others .   Unless of course you are baking and need exact measurements.  Then add your  grated pecorino cheese and beaten egg.  Mix untill blended.    You’re  stuffing for your peppers should be moist  in consistencey,  not dry.  Cut off ends of  your frying peppers ( remove seeds) and stuff with stuffing.   If making my mothers recipe add tomato sauce and one can of water, and add your sauce to the bottom of a  covered non stick pan.  If making my recipe add homemade canned Roma tomatoes.  Place your Stuffed Peppers on top of your sauce , and  cook covered for at least forty minutes or until  fork tender, turning carefully  during cooking time.
Love ❤️  through Cooking is My Motto!!

   

 

4 thoughts on “My Mom’s Stuffed Italian Frying Peppers with a little Twist

    1. If you want yes I even heard people sautéing at the end anchovies. My mother never put sausage . If so I would drain some the juice from the meat you are using otherwise it may make your stuff in to moist , hope that helps !

      Like

Leave a Reply

